22

What a DUI Lawyer in Phoenix (Arizona) Can Do for You?

Charged with DUI in Arizona? Hire an Arizona DUI Lawyer who understands Arizona DWI Laws. If you have been charged with a DUI in Arizona, then the first thing you need to do is find a lawyer that understands the Arizona DWI Laws. An arrest that leads to a DUI / DWI charge in Arizona can have serious consequences, so finding a good DUI attorney is important.

What is Driving Under the Influence in Arizona.

  • A BAC level of greater than 0.08 will lead to a DUI
  • Commercial drivers must not have a BAC of above 0.04
  • Drivers under the age of 21 will face a DUI if there is even a trace of alcohol in their blood

Drunk Driving Penalties in Arizona

The precise penalty for a DUI in Phoenix depends on the type of DUI, and the criminal record of the defendant. The penalty for a DUI is greatly increased if the defendant has a previous DUI on their record. Previous DUIs will count against the defendant if they occurred within seven years of the current arrest. The severity of the DUI given depends on the BAC level at the time of the arrest. The standard level for a DUI is 0.08% BAC. BAC tests are not the only tests that can be counted. Urine tests and breath tests can also be used. If you refuse a test your driving license will be suspended for 12 months. If you refuse another test your license will be suspended for two years. DUI Laws: Penalties for a DUI in Arizona

First DUI Offense (Non-Extreme - BAC 0.08 - 0.15)

  • Jail Time 1-10 days up to 6 months.
  • License Suspension for up to 90 days, with the possibility of a work permit after 30 days
  • Ignition Interlock Device
  • Fine of $1450 - $2000.
  • Counseling and alcohol screening
  • Community service

First DUI Offense (Non-Extreme) With A BAC Of At least 0.08 And Less Than 0.15

Jail Time: First Arizona DUI offense (non-extreme) can lead up to a minimum jail time of 1-10 days and up to a maximum jail time of 6 months.
License Suspension: Your license will be suspended for 90 days. And you will be eligible for a work permit after 30 days.
Ignition Interlock Device: You will be required to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense for 1 year.
Fine: You will have to pay a fine of $1450 - $2000.
Counseling: You will be asked to undergo drug / alcohol screening and depending upon the results a therapy will be advised.
Probation: 5 years maximum.
Community Service: You will be asked to perform community service as advised by the court.

Second DUI Offense (Non-Extreme)

The penalties for a second DUI offense in Arizona are slightly increased. The minimum jail time increases to one month, and the defendant could have their license revoked for one year. The fine increases to a minimum of $3400.

Third DUI Offense In Arizona (Class 4 Felony)

A third DUI in Arizona is considered to be a class 4 felony. A third offence will occur if you are charged for a DUI within seven years of the previous (second) conviction. The penalties for a third offense are severe, with the minimum jail time being four months. You will be asked to undergo a full drug and alcohol screening / treatment program with counseling, and you will face a fine of $4500 - $10,000 or more, lose your license for a minimum of one year, and be required to install an ignition interlock device when you are on probation. There are also extreme DUI offenses, which have their own penalties depending on whether it is your first, second, or third offense.

The full details of a conviction and the penalties involved will depend on the circumstances of the arrest, and your BAC at the time. For that reason, it is vital that you find a DUI lawyer that understands Arizona DUI laws.

How to find good DUI lowyer in Phoenix, AZ?

We will explane everything you need how to avoid DUI penalty in Phoenix. It is possible.

Wait.